Aaryan Varshney becomes Delhi State Champion

New Delhi (27 March 2021) :- Top seed Fide Master Aaryan Varshney annexed the Delhi State Chess Champion title after beating second seed Nassir Wajih in the seventh and final round of the Delhi State Chess Championship that concluded at Chess Centre, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi on Saturday.

A total number of 114 players took part in the championship and Varshney scored 6½ points from possible 7. Mayank Nandkishore Sharma, Santu Mondal and Harish Sharma tied for the runner up position with 6 points but better tie break score helped Mayank Nandakishore Sharma to finish as runner up while Santu Mondal and Harish Sharma satisfied with third and fourth position respectively.

Top four players will represent Delhi State in the Senior National Championship which has been postponed due to the resurgence of Covid-19 cases.